Nuova Simonelli Appia Life review

By Kirill Gissa · Published · Specs checked Oct 15, 2026 ·
Nuova Simonelli Appia Life
Nuova Simonelli Appia Life
9.25OF 10
Excellent
Service 2 · Specs 1.75 · Price 2 · Warranty & returns 1.75 · Reviews 1.75 · How we score
Buy if / Skip if

It has the highest score among the 22 commercial espresso machines we track, 9.25/10, tied with 1 other. At $10,400 it costs 25% less than the median commercial espresso machine ($13,860), checked Oct 15, 2026. Its 2-year warranty is longer than the category median of 1.08 years. Nuova Simonelli lists US service and a parts catalog for it.

Best for

A fixed spot with a water line: it plumbs in

Price
$10,400
Groups
2
Power
Not stated
NSF/ANSI 4
No record
Warranty
2 years (limited)
Returns
See terms below

Specs and sources

Checked Oct 15, 2026 · source under each value
Brewing
Machine typeSemi-automaticsimonelliusa.com
BoilerHeat-exchange boiler, steam boiler 9.5 L (US manual p. 24, 2-group); brand global page lists 11 L for XT/Timer 2-group; Prima lists 11 L (2 group)simonelliusa.com
Temperature controlThermostat, no PIDsimonelliusa.com
Profilingvolumetric dosing, 4 programmable doses per group (Prima; brand: 5 keys per group on Timer); SIS Soft Infusion System (brand); no profilingsimonelliusa.com
Groupraised or low group (brand: 'Raised or low group'); 2-3gr manual: low groups 85 mm / 3.35 in, high groups 125 mm / 4.92 in clearancesimonelliusa.com
GrinderNot includedsimonelliusa.com
Build, service and safety
Waternone (plumb-in only); plumb-insimonelliusa.com
Power220 V (range 208–240), single phase (US spec sheet); manual: 220–240 V 50-60 Hz or 380–415 V 3N~, 17 A draw (US spec sheet 2 group) A, 3400 (US spec sheet 2 group); manual p. 24: 3150 W (2 group), 5200 W (3 group); brand global page XT 2gr 3350 W, Timer 2gr 3150 W W, 3,400 Wsimonelliusa.com
NSF/ANSI 4Nosimonelliusa.com
Dimensionscounter space H 20 x D 21 x W 31 (US spec sheet); manual: 30.87 x 21.42 x 19.69 in (784 x 544 x 500 mm)simonelliusa.com
Weight119 lbsimonelliusa.com
Safety listingNo UL/ETL listing found. Brand claims NSF; listing not verified. Prop 65: Not found (brand US pages, spec sheet, manual, warranty)Source not recorded
US serviceAuthorized service network in the USsimonelliusa.com
DescalingDescale: Not stated; softener mandatory instead (warranty, spec sheet); Water filter: US spec sheet / warranty: water hardness 3 gpg or 50 ppm max (softener mandatory above), line pressure 2–4 bar, flow ≥1 GPM, filtration <1.0 micron, TDS 50–250 ppm, alkalinity 10–150 ppm, chlorine <0.50 ppm, pH 6.5–8.5; manual p. 9/33: softened drinking water max 5/6 °fH (50/60 ppm), total hardness 50–60 ppm; Simonelli USA sells RSCF124/RSCF195 softening cartridges ($200/$350, 2026 price list); Backflush: automatic cleaning program (brand: 'automatic cleaning'; manual: washing program, 'do not interrupt'); blind filter supplied (manual p. 13); manual p. 78 cleaning table (after use / daily / weekly) covers steam wand, filter + filter holder, body, cup grid, tray, group diffuser, group gasket, group — column marks not extractable from text; Group gasket: group gasket in cleaning table (manual p. 78); replacement interval not stated; gaskets = wear parts (warranty); Shower screen: group diffuser in cleaning table (manual p. 78); replacement not stated; Filter cartridge: softener regeneration interval not found in manual textManual · Oct 15, 2026
Water filterUS spec sheet / warranty: water hardness 3 gpg or 50 ppm max (softener mandatory above), line pressure 2–4 bar, flow ≥1 GPM, filtration <1.0 micron, TDS 50–250 ppm, alkalinity 10–150 ppm, chlorine <0.50 ppm, pH 6.5–8.5; manual p. 9/33: softened drinking water max 5/6 °fH (50/60 ppm), total hardness 50–60 ppm; Simonelli USA sells RSCF124/RSCF195 softening cartridges ($200/$350, 2026 price list)Manual · Oct 15, 2026
FinancingNot found on brand US site; Pro Coffee Gear pages blocked (shop. 429, procoffeegear.com 403); Prima page: nonesimonelliusa.com
Buying
Price$10,400 (MSRP, checked Oct 15, 2026)simonelliusa.com
WarrantyStandard Dealer Limited Warranty (effective October 1, 2020, revised June 23, 2026), https://www.simonelliusa.com/PDFs/Standard%20Dealer%20Warranty.pdf: new espresso equipment 'free from defects in material or workmanship ... for a period of twenty-four (24) months from the original date of invoice, with an additional limited lifetime warranty on copper espresso machine boilers'; parts only ('limited to the cost of parts'); 'THIS WARRANTY IS VOID IF ANY PRODUCT IS NOT INSTALLED BY A NUOVA AUTHORIZED SERVICE COMPANY'; equipment outside the dealer's direct service area needs a NUOVA-approved service plan or warranty is void; wear parts excluded (burrs, gaskets, seals, heating elements, switches, solenoids...); water outside required levels 'WILL VOID THE ENTIRE WARRANTY'. Gold National Service Plan (same PDF set): adds 12 months straight-time labor by NUOVA authorized service company, free installation, bench test, water test, training, one courtesy call. Prima lists '2 years parts, 1 year labor'.simonelliusa.com
Returnsnot found — brand US site has no returns page in navigation (terms-and-conditions page not opened); Prima page: not listed; Pro Coffee Gear blocked (snippet: '30-Day Returns – Standard Policy' — unverified)simonelliusa.com
ShippingPrima: 'Free Shipping' and 'Free Installation' badges, 'Contact sales@prima-coffee.com for current lead times' (2026-10-15). Brand spec sheet is an installation-site readiness form (installer visit, 'additional service and travel charges' if site not ready) — freight/installed delivery implied; no freight terms stated.simonelliusa.com
Brand pageManual (brand)

Warranty, returns and shipping

Warranty2 years (limited)

Standard Dealer Limited Warranty (effective October 1, 2020, revised June 23, 2026), https://www.simonelliusa.com/PDFs/Standard%20Dealer%20Warranty.pdf: new espresso equipment 'free from defects in material or workmanship ... for a period of twenty-four (24) months from the original date of invoice, with an additional limited lifetime warranty on copper espresso machine boilers'; parts only ('limited to the cost of parts'); 'THIS WARRANTY IS VOID IF ANY PRODUCT IS NOT INSTALLED BY A NUOVA AUTHORIZED SERVICE COMPANY'; equipment outside the dealer's direct service area needs a NUOVA-approved service plan or warranty is void; wear parts excluded (burrs, gaskets, seals, heating elements, switches, solenoids...); water outside required levels 'WILL VOID THE ENTIRE WARRANTY'. Gold National Service Plan (same PDF set): adds 12 months straight-time labor by NUOVA authorized service company, free installation, bench test, water test, training, one courtesy call. Prima lists '2 years parts, 1 year labor'.

ReturnsSee below

not found — brand US site has no returns page in navigation (terms-and-conditions page not opened); Prima page: not listed; Pro Coffee Gear blocked (snippet: '30-Day Returns – Standard Policy' — unverified).

ShippingFree

Prima: 'Free Shipping' and 'Free Installation' badges, 'Contact sales@prima-coffee.com for current lead times' (2026-10-15). Brand spec sheet is an installation-site readiness form (installer visit, 'additional service and travel charges' if site not ready) — freight/installed delivery implied; no freight terms stated.

Warranty: Standard Dealer Limited Warranty (effective October 1, 2020, revised June 23, 2026), https://www.simonelliusa.com/PDFs/Standard%20Dealer%20Warranty.pdf: new espresso equipment 'free from defects in material or workmanship ... for a period of twenty-four (24) months from the original date of invoice, with an additional limited lifetime warranty on copper espresso machine boilers'; parts only ('limited to the cost of parts'); 'THIS WARRANTY IS VOID IF ANY PRODUCT IS NOT INSTALLED BY A NUOVA AUTHORIZED SERVICE COMPANY'; equipment outside the dealer's direct service area needs a NUOVA-approved service plan or warranty is void; wear parts excluded (burrs, gaskets, seals, heating elements, switches, solenoids...); water outside required levels 'WILL VOID THE ENTIRE WARRANTY'. Gold National Service Plan (same PDF set): adds 12 months straight-time labor by NUOVA authorized service company, free installation, bench test, water test, training, one courtesy call. Prima lists '2 years parts, 1 year labor'.. Returns: not found — brand US site has no returns page in navigation (terms-and-conditions page not opened); Prima page: not listed; Pro Coffee Gear blocked (snippet: '30-Day Returns – Standard Policy' — unverified). Shipping: Prima: 'Free Shipping' and 'Free Installation' badges, 'Contact sales@prima-coffee.com for current lead times' (2026-10-15). Brand spec sheet is an installation-site readiness form (installer visit, 'additional service and travel charges' if site not ready) — freight/installed delivery implied; no freight terms stated.. Source: simonelliusa.com, checked October 15, 2026.

Source: simonelliusa.com, checked Oct 15, 2026.

Compared with similar commercial espresso machines

All 22 commercial espresso machines →
Nuova Simonelli Appia LifeTHIS MODEL
Boiler: Heat exchanger · Warranty: 2 years (limited)Score 9.25/10
$10,400
Boiler: Dual boiler · Warranty: 1.08 years (limited)Score 9.25/10
Boiler: Heat exchanger · Warranty: 2 years (limited)Score 9/10
Boiler: Dual boiler · Warranty: 1 yearScore 9/10
Boiler: Dual boiler · Warranty: 1 yearScore 8.75/10
Similar models compared: price, boiler, warm-up, warranty, score.
ModelPriceBoilerWarm-upWarrantyScoreWhere to buy
Nuova Simonelli Appia LifeTHIS MODEL$10,400Heat exchangerNot stated2 years (limited)9.25/10
Synesso ES.1$13,860Dual boiler30 min, brand figure1.08 years (limited)9.25/10See specs →
Nuova Simonelli Aurelia Wave$14,700Heat exchangerNot stated2 years (limited)9/10See specs →
La Marzocco Linea Classic SPrice not availableDual boiler25 min, brand figure1 year9/10Check price →

Affiliate link

La Marzocco Linea PBPrice not availableDual boilerNot stated1 year8.75/10Check price →

Affiliate link

Kirill Gissa

Affiliate links

$10,400
Free shipping