Breville Barista Express Impress Review
One espresso machine, $799.95. The Breville Barista Express Impress is a Barista Express with assisted dosing and tamping. Per Tom's Coffee Corner, it keeps the older thermocoil heater, and three reviewers put start-up at 15 to 40 seconds. Amazon owners raise reliability most: 61 of 102 mentions are negative (checked October 15, 2026). It fits a first setup that needs help with dose and tamp; if you own a grinder, see the Bambino Plus.
Breville Barista Express Impress at a glance
Warm-up: "measured" is Kyle Rowsell, time to ready.
Who it suits
this is your first espresso machine and you want the grinder in the same box. It sets the dose and tamps for you while you learn the rest. In reviewers' videos the dose drifts between shots, so a scale still helps.
you already own a grinder: the Breville Bambino Plus is $499.95 at Breville and heats with ThermoJet. Skip it too if you steam milk for every drink, since Craft Coffee Spot needed about 30 seconds to reach full steam pressure, against 10 on the Breville Barista Pro.
Specs and claimed vs measured
Breville's figures come from its product page and the Impress manual, checked October 16, 2026. The reviewer column comes from eight video reviews; I took only numbers shown on screen or said out loud, and each links to the moment. Coffealover EN's temperatures are left out, because the video never says whether they are Celsius or Fahrenheit.
| Breville | Reviewers recorded | |
|---|---|---|
| Warm-up from power-on | up to 55 s (manual p. 13) | about 15 s (Kyle Rowsell) · about 30 s (Tom's Coffee Corner) · 30–40 s (Coffee Kev) |
| Brew temperature at the portafilter | 199°F (93°C) factory setting, per Lance Hedrick | 194°F (90°C) in free flow; 204°F (95.6°C) at 9 bar after a long preinfusion (Lance Hedrick) |
| Brew pressure at the portafilter | 15-bar pump (a pump rating, not brew pressure) | 9 bar at most (Lance Hedrick) |
| Built-in pressure gauge | — | did not match an external gauge on one unit (Lance Hedrick) |
| Steam ready, first use | Not stated | 15–20 s (Tom's Coffee Corner) · about 30 s to full pressure (Craft Coffee Spot) |
| Noise at 1.6 ft (50 cm) | Not stated | 71 dB grinding, up to 78 dB steaming (Coffealover EN) |
Heat-up is where the Impress does better than its own paperwork. The manual says “Light will flash for up to 55 seconds while the machine is heating” (p. 13), and the three reviewers above saw 15 to 40 seconds. They stopped the clock at different points, ready lights or heater up to temperature, so I list them side by side instead of averaging.
It is still a thermocoil, which Breville's product page confirms, not the ThermoJet of the Barista Pro, for which Breville claims 3 seconds. Kyle Rowsell also advises waiting longer for the portafilter and shower screen to warm up.
Temperature held close to the factory setting. Lance Hedrick's sensor in the portafilter read 194°F (90°C) with no puck, about 5°F under the 199°F setting. The reading rose as the pressure came down, which Hedrick called “really odd behavior,” and the pump topped out at 9 bar at the portafilter.
The built-in gauge, which Breville calls “Extraction Feedback,” is the weak point on paper. On Hedrick's unit it disagreed with an external gauge. Kyle Rowsell found the needle sitting mid-range during a shot, where on the older Express it reached the top of the espresso zone. Treat the gauge as a rough guide and judge shots by time and weight.
Real price: MSRP, street price, tax and shipping
Breville lists the Impress at $799.95 on breville.com and showed it in stock (checked October 16, 2026). That is $100 above the Express and $50 below the Pro. Add sales tax, which varies by state.
Shipping from Breville adds nothing at these prices. Its orders page says “Free standard shipping on orders over $49” and quotes standard delivery in 2–7 business days (breville.com, checked October 16, 2026). There is no grinder to add, since one is built in. The running costs are cleaning tablets, descaler, and water filters; our Breville accessories guide lists which ones Breville sells.
Where to buy: Breville direct vs Amazon
Breville's own 30-day return window applies only to machines bought from Breville USA (return policy, checked October 16, 2026); anywhere else, the store's policy is the one you get. Buying direct also settles the warranty question, which matters more than the price gap.
Breville's warranty excludes “Products not purchased from Breville or through a Breville-authorized distributor or product reseller,” and names unauthorized online sellers and auctions among them (warranty page). On Amazon, the listing we track showed the Impress as currently unavailable on October 15, 2026, with 4.2 out of 5 from 1,124 ratings. If you buy from a marketplace, confirm the seller is Breville or an authorized reseller before you pay.
Financing
Breville's US product pages showed no financing offer on screen on October 16, 2026. Its terms of sale list only “credit card or another accepted payment method.” The page code contains Klarna and Affirm entries, but no provider, rate, or term is displayed, so we don't count it as an offer.
Warranty and returns
Breville's product page lists a two-year limited warranty for the Impress. The warranty page itself gives no length; it says “To find the warranty length of your specific product, refer to the product page of the website for your country.” That matters here, because the length differs inside this family: the Express page lists one year, so the Impress doubles it.
Coverage needs proof of purchase with the model, payment, and date; registration is optional. It is “not applicable to any purchase of a product for commercial use,” so an Impress bought for an office or café is not covered. Repairs by anyone Breville hasn't authorized void it (warranty page, checked October 16, 2026).
Breville accepts returns “within 30 days from receipt of shipment” for machines bought from Breville USA, new and in the original packaging. You need a Return Authority number first. The policy doesn't mention a restocking fee or say who pays return shipping. Parts are final: “Breville does not permit the return of or offer refunds for parts or accessories” (return policy).
Parts and service in the US
Breville handles US warranty repairs by mail: call 1-866-273-8455 or use its support page, and it sends a prepaid label. It quotes a turnaround of up to 10 business days plus shipping and asks you not to take the machine back to the store. A repaired or replaced machine is covered for the rest of the original warranty or 90 days, whichever is longer (warranty page, checked October 16, 2026).
Breville's US parts page (breville.com, checked October 16, 2026) names portafilters, tampers, burr kits, water tanks, water filters, steam wand tips, cleaning tablets, and descalers. The page we read lists no model fit, so I couldn't confirm which of them match the Impress. Our Breville accessories guide and the portafilter size chart cover what fits which machine.
Assisted dosing and tamping: what it does
The assist does two jobs: it doses ground coffee into the portafilter and tamps it with a lever on the side. Breville's product page names the parts Auto Dose Correct, a Dose Level Indicator, and assisted tamping with a “7° Barista Twist” finish.
Reviewers found it lands near its target, not on it. At factory settings, Coffealover EN got about 17 g per double dose. Tom's Coffee Corner saw 17.0 g on the scale in one run, but 22 g and then 18 g in earlier ones.
The drift shows up in the cup too. On one grind setting, Tom's Coffee Corner got 36 g and then 25 g from two shots (September 12, 2024). The same video rated the Ninja Luxe Café more consistent.
Coffealover EN found the lever sometimes left an uneven puck even after two presses (June 16, 2026). Both findings point the same way: weigh the dose and the shot, at least while you dial in.
Owners point at the grinder side as well. On Amazon, 16 of 33 mentions of grind control are complaints, close to half (checked October 15, 2026).
Steam wand and milk
Steaming is where the thermocoil shows. Tom's Coffee Corner needed 15 to 20 seconds for steam mode to warm up the first time. Craft Coffee Spot needed about 30 seconds to reach full steam pressure, against 10 on the Barista Pro, and roughly 90 seconds to steam milk.
Kyle Rowsell called it a slow steamer, adding 45 seconds to a minute on top of the heat-up. None of them gave a milk volume, so treat these as rough times, not a race result.
The wand is also the loudest part. Coffealover EN recorded up to 78 dB at 1.6 ft (50 cm) while steaming, against 71 dB while grinding (June 16, 2026).
Barista Express vs Barista Express Impress
Underneath, the Impress is the Express. Tom's Coffee Corner compared the Express, the Express Impress, and the Pro side by side. It says the Express and the Impress share the older thermocoil heater, while the Pro switches to ThermoJet. The difference you pay for is the assisted dosing and tamping.
| Express Impress | Express | Pro | |
|---|---|---|---|
| MSRP | $799.95 | $699.95 | $849.95 |
| Heater | Thermocoil | Thermocoil | ThermoJet |
| PID | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Portafilter | 54 mm | 54 mm | 54 mm |
| Grind settings | 25 | 16 | 30 |
| Assisted dosing and tamping | Yes | No | No |
| Warranty | 2 years | 1 year | 2 years |
The table shows two more gaps: 25 grind settings against 16, and a two-year warranty against one. At Breville's list prices, all of it costs $100 over the Express, which Breville's site showed as out of stock on October 15, 2026.
If heat-up time matters more than the assist, look at the Pro. If you already own a grinder, compare the Bambino Plus at $499.95 instead. Our espresso machines with a grinder list puts all of them side by side. For how Breville compares with other brands on service and warranty, see our espresso machine brand guide.
Size, power and water
The Impress runs on 120V at 1,750W, weighs 22.6 lb, and measures 16.6 × 14.4 × 12.2 in (W × D × H), per Breville's product page. The water tank holds 68 fl oz (2 L), and the bean hopper holds 8.8 oz (250 g). There is no plumb-in option; the tank is the only water supply.
Daily upkeep: cleaning, descaling and water
The Impress manual doesn't put descaling on a calendar. The CLEAN / DESCALE light comes on solid when it's needed (p. 25), and a sachet of Breville's descaling powder is in the box. The manual also says “Replacing the water filter every three months will reduce the need to descale the machine” (p. 11).
When the same light flashes instead, it's time for the cleaning cycle with the cleaning disc and a tablet. The manual calls it “This is a back-flushing cycle and separate from descaling” (p. 24), so the two jobs don't replace each other.
Our Breville descaling guide covers the cycle step by step from Breville's manuals, and how descaling differs from the cleaning cycle.
Recalls and safety notices
We found no CPSC recall for Breville espresso machines as of October 15, 2026. The only Breville recall the CPSC database returned was for pressure cookers, on December 22, 2015 (CPSC notice). For the Impress itself: we found no UL or ETL listing record.
What owners say
Owner opinion here comes from two places. Amazon's listing shows 4.2 out of 5 from 1,124 ratings, with 11% of them one star, and Amazon sorts the reviews by topic. A search of r/espresso returned 236 posts about the Impress from January 15, 2026 to October 14, 2026. All counts were checked on October 15, 2026; we didn't verify individual cases.
What owners complain about
Reliability draws the most complaints by count: 61 of 102 Amazon mentions are negative. Durability is close to an even split, 22 of 43. Brew pressure has the worst ratio, 24 of 31. Amazon's summary doesn't say whether owners mean the gauge or the shots; two reviewers above questioned the gauge.
Value for money splits 54 positive to 41 negative. On Reddit, one of the 236 posts described the machine breaking down, and none of the 54 posts found by searching “problem” did.
What owners praise
Espresso quality gets the most praise: 62 of 73 mentions are positive. Ease of use follows at 60 of 78, which fits what the assist is for, and coffee flavor at 25 of 31.
Questions people ask
What's the difference between the Barista Express and the Express Impress?
The Impress adds assisted dosing and tamping with a side lever. The rest follows the Express: Tom's Coffee Corner says both use the older thermocoil heater, which reviewers clock at 15 to 40 seconds from power-on. For a 3-second heat-up you need a ThermoJet model such as the Breville Barista Pro. The Impress also has 25 grind settings to the Express's 16 and a two-year warranty to its one.
Is the Barista Express Impress worth it?
It is if you want a grinder and help with dose and tamp in one box. Amazon owners rate it 4.2 out of 5 from 1,124 ratings, but reliability is their top complaint topic: 61 of 102 mentions are negative (checked October 15, 2026). If you already own a grinder, the Breville Bambino Plus at $499.95 covers the machine side for less.
What is the brew pressure of the Impress?
Lance Hedrick's sensor in the portafilter topped out at 9 bar (May 18, 2023). Breville lists a 15-bar pump, but that is the pump's rating, not the pressure at the coffee. Don't rely on the built-in gauge for it: on Hedrick's unit the gauge disagreed with an external one, and Kyle Rowsell saw its needle sit mid-range during shots.
How long does the Impress take to steam milk?
Tom's Coffee Corner reports 15 to 20 seconds for steam mode to warm up the first time. Craft Coffee Spot needed about 30 seconds to reach full pressure and roughly 90 seconds to steam milk. Neither stated the milk volume. The ThermoJet Barista Pro reached full pressure in about 10 seconds in the same video.






